Strawberry Vinegar

It’s been a while since I wrote mostly because I forgot to post the older game I was playing but I haven’t finished it so that takes a back seat.

Strawberry Vinegar is a visual novel. It’s not really very different from the other VN’s I’ve played since they were pretty much written by the same person. The characterization strikes me as odd since the protagonist is a cynical and morbid 9 (nine) year old. Yes, nine. I don’t even remember what I was doing at that age aside from the random memory markers I had for 3rd Grade. Nothing too distinct, all school related.

The premise of the game is that the cute looking demon, Licia, will reap her soul unless she gives her food for a week and if she does that, she will spare her soul. As the story progresses, it becomes apparent how inexperienced Licia is with the whole demon and soul reaping thing.

The protagonist, Rie, has parents that willingly accept Licia into their lives. Hilariously enough when they first ask about Licia’s horns, the mother assumed it was a fashion thing and any admission Licia said about her being a demon was translated into, “Wow she said something in Norwegian.” Yes, they think her pale skin, pink hair, red crystalline eyes, and ram horns are something very European fashion forward.

Very typical of VN, it has 20 billion endings based on your decision. I was able to get the first ending easily simply by rejecting the premise and responding as how it is, “The whole thing is ridiculous.” Yeah, that earned me a visit from an older sister of Licia whoo was rather experienced in soul reaping. Dead End.

Ultimately, it’s a fun, light visual novel. I can’t say the story and writing is original as this was probably explored in some random anime or manga I can’t name but overall the whole thing has a very familiar feeling to it.

Leave a Reply

